Honouring the good…


Last week was a sad one all around the world… Steve Job’s passing made all of us realise just how special some people really are.

In my post – Who can change the world? – I tried to highlight some of the good that we can learn from really special individuals.

This week I would like you to honour the people that are still living

Recognise their absolute influence and allow you to communicate this to them while they can still appreciate it…

Call them TODAY…

Tell them…

I would like you to learn from someone special just how to do that – Anita van Zyl – My mother.

Short Bio:

  • Cancer survivor (To which I am eternally grateful)
  • International athlete (RSA National team Blind Bowls)
  • Consummate mother (She leads by example – and it is a GOOD one)
  • Humanitarian (Most of my friends like her more than they like me)
  • Spiritual rock (Most people do not know what she believes but envy how she lives that belief)
  • Safe harbour (To the lost, lonely, downtrodden and everybody that needs help and encouragement)
  • Intellectual (Never in your face, always humble deep-seated and tested knowledge)
  • Social dynamo (She is always in the middle of any interaction without catching the limelight – awesome)

I fully acknowledge that I am tainted and bias in this view of my mother, because I deeply love and respect her…

Here are some quotes that is ABSOLUTELY true of my mother:

  • I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life. ~Abraham Lincoln
  • If you have a mom, there is nowhere you are likely to go where a prayer has not already been. ~Robert Brault
  • The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness. ~Honoré de Balzac
  • Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible. ~Marion C. Garretty
  • I love my mother as the trees love water and sunshine – she helps me grow, prosper, and reach great heights. ~Terri Guillemets
  • Mother’s love is peace. It need not be acquired, it need not be deserved. ~Erich Fromm
  • Mother is a verb, not a noun. ~Proverb
  • Mother is the name for God in the lips and hearts of little children. ~William Makepeace Thackeray
  • My mother had a slender, small body, but a large heart – a heart so large that everybody’s joys found welcome in it, and hospitable accommodation. ~Mark Twain
  • All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel Mother. ~Abraham Lincoln
  • God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers. ~Jewish Proverb
  • Biology is the least of what makes someone a mother. ~Oprah Winfrey

A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts. ~Washington Irving

Because I feel that in the heavens above

The angels, whispering one to another,

Can find among their burning tears of love,

None so devotional as that of “Mother,”

Therefore, by that dear name I have long called you,

You who are more than mother unto me.

~Edgar Allan Poe

You mean the world to me…

I love you without constraint or boundary…

Thank you so much for the life you have given and the example provided…

Love you....

Love you....

 

Life Lesson:

To achieve astonishing success in everything you do; do everything, every day in keeping with what would make your mother proud – antonvandenberg

One thought on “Honouring the good…

  1. Absolutely apt for me this day.Just happened to open your blog.Indeed a Godsend message.Keep up the INSPIRATIONALS and this HONOUR type advice.

Leave a Reply

