Diamonds and Glass… Where are you?


I have been meaning to write this post for some time now. However it seems that the powers above wanted me to be in exactly the right frame of mind when I do.

Comparing the real thing with something that is a copy or replica is sometimes more difficult that we can imagine.

The strangest realisation that I have come to is that the replica can under certain conditions be better than the real thing.

Diamond?

Diamond?

Cubic Zirconia?

Cubic Zirconia?

These three pictures depict a diamond, a cubic zirconia and a Lead Crystal Cut Glass Diamond.

To be honest, I am not a jeweller or knowledgeable about gemstones, and therefore I have to accept the website’s word that these three stones are indeed made of these different substances. On the appearance level (perception) they are very difficult to distinguish (for me at least) and I would need expert help to be able to tell them apart.

Here is how to test for a fake: (From How to Test A Diamond?)

Method:

  • Test for weight. The most popular diamond simulant (fake) is a cubic zirconia.
  • C.Z.’s will weigh approximately 55% more than diamonds for the same shape and size.
  • Use a carat or gram scale to see if the impostor tips the scales too much.
Lead Crystal Cut Glass?

Lead Crystal Cut Glass?

Method:

The U.V. test. Many diamonds will show fluorescence of blue if put under an ultra violet light or black light. 99% of all fakes don’t do this; so, a positive identification of medium to strong blue would indicate a diamond. Diamonds with blue fluorescence can be as much as 20% less valuable; however, lack of blue fluorescence doesn’t mean it’s a fake; it could be a better quality diamond.

Method:

With a magnifying lens, there are some things you can look for on the stone that might give away its identity:

  • Look at your diamond from the top and see how the facets (the cuts on top of the diamond) are joined. They should be sharp but not rolled.
  • Is the girdle faceted or frosty (yes, then it’s a diamond) or waxy and slick (yes, then it’s a fake.)
  • Under magnification, look into your diamond for flaws (carbon, pinpoints, small cracks.) It’s very hard to put inclusions into a fake.

But honestly, that is not the only way… We all know a few things about gemstones, fakes and the like.

Anton’s method: (just kidding)

  • Get something with which you can apply REAL pressure… (that’s it)

There is not a person alive that does not know that real diamonds can withstand severe pressure, when compared to most other substances.

Life lesson: (In some ways diamonds are just like real people)

  • The real diamond has flaws…
  • The real diamond is slightly sharp at the edges…
  • The real diamond does amazing things when exposed to the right light…
  • The real diamond weighs within specific weight parameters; not to light or too heavy…
  • The real diamond can withstand a lot of pressure without cracking or breaking…

So if you are exhibiting any of these characteristics…

Thank you for being my friend… You are all real…

Gems

Gems

Please feel free to comment, share and tell people…

Hope you have a Happy Day…

4 thoughts on “Diamonds and Glass… Where are you?

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say,
    I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Hi,

      I have to be honest, your message does look like a link-back request rather than a comment – Because I cannot even figure out what your name is.

      Advice:
      Write about things that you are PASSIONATE about
      Write often – daily, weekly (Not taking my own advice here 😦 I am busy finalising a product set)
      Write the way you speak – don’t preach, converse

      I promise you that if you do these things, you will build up a following – and 10 devoted followers are worth more than a 100 people that never read your stuff.

      I hope this helps and if I am now talking to some machine..(ugly stuff)..

      Have a great day
      🙂 Anton

Leave a Reply

