Love – THIS IS WHAT IT IS


In this post I will provide the answers to many questions:

What does love mean? Where does it come from? Where does love fit in? Is love relevant in a work / friendship / social setting? How can I get love? How will I recognise love? What is love supposed to “look” like?

This post is part of a journey. It started with Love – what do you think it is? where we looked at the different kinds of love, Management – Do you need Love, Care and Trust? where we looked at its function in the working environment.

In Love – Where does it belong? we discovered that love has a place in our lives and we “use” it to gain different results depending on where we are in terms of our life journey.

Shocking Revelation – Stop the Presses

In all the variants, permutations and different applications that we have encountered with regards to love in this series one thing became clear – Love is the result of something else.

Newborn Baby

Aaaaawwwww

Commitment

MWA

Hi Buddy

Hi Buddy

Co-Workers

Team!!!

Commitment

Yup – Love follows on a cold hard decision that you have to or have made. The level you have decided to commit to something is the level to which you can love someone, something or allow yourself in a situation.

Let that sink in…….

Examples:

If we look at the pictures above, we will see that a friend of mine has to commit to the caring of his newborn child UNCONDITIONALLY. That means that he has to be able to forgive and forget almost anything that this child can do to him throughout his lifetime. Once the commitment is established – the love is simply there for the taking and experiencing.

Marriage is exactly the same. Two people vow to commit themselves to unexplainable torture and then come out on the other side – forgiven. They expect to be able to undergo significant amounts of hardship together within a simple premise – each will commit him or herself to being there once the hardship has passed.

Business and friendship follows suit. Each party will commit to a level that is acceptable to the other in a mutually beneficial way. This will last for as long as all the parties experience the agreed level of commitment from the other parties.

People don’t leave jobs because they want more money; no they leave jobs because they need more commitment (love) from the organisation. They leave because they are unhappy. Marriages don’t break up because one of the parties feel that he or she can do better without the other partner; they break up because they don’t experience the same level of commitment from the other person.

So if we then commit to something; what do we get?

Love

It is the most wondrous emotion ever described. If you want to experience just how overwhelming the feeling can be, please read Sapphire Mccullough ©.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. The Bible 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

We don’t have to look for it – once you are committed to something – it is simply there.

“The Rose” – written by Amanda McBroom and sung by Bette Midler

Some say love, it is a river

that drowns the tender reed.

Some say love, it is a razor

that leaves your soul to bleed.

Some say love, it is a hunger,

an endless aching need.

I say love, it is a flower,

and you its only seed.

It’s the heart afraid of breaking

that never learns to dance.

It’s the dream afraid of waking

that never takes the chance.

It’s the one who won’t be taken,

who cannot seem to give,

and the soul afraid of dyin’

that never learns to live.

When the night has been too lonely

and the road has been to long,

and you think that love is only

for the lucky and the strong,

just remember in the winter

far beneath the bitter snows

lies the seed that with the sun’s love

in the spring becomes the rose.

I hope that this has touched you in a positive way. If it has you can do the following:

  1. Send this to someone you care for
  2. Make a comment
  3. Simply share it on Facebook, LinkedIn or whichever network you belong to.

Get my book “The Management Imperative” my mother says it is gooooood.

7 thoughts on “Love – THIS IS WHAT IT IS

  1. My comment to the above blog:
    The word love can refer to a variety of different feelings, states, and attitudes, ranging from generic pleasure (“I loved that meal”) to intense interpersonal attraction (“I love my wife”). “Love” can also refer specifically to the passionate desire and intimacy of romantic love, to the sexual love of eros (cf. Greek words for love), to the emotional closeness of familial love, or to the platonic love that defines friendship. To the profound oneness or devotion of religious love. This diversity of uses and meanings, combined with the complexity of the feelings involved, makes love unusually difficult to consistently define, even compared to other emotional states.
    I feel honoured to have experienced all different types of “LOVE” it is fulfilling for the body mind & soul, it comes with many other emotions that are sometimes overwhelming. It also gives us hope in our everyday lives.

  2. LinkedIn Group: Leeds Metropolitan Alumni

    Today is my 36th wedding anniversary whilst at college I met my future husband at a bus stop in Leeds.
    We did not go for a meal today but filled the holes in the bathroom where the plaster fell out yesterday when we removed the battens where the window blinds had been.

    The dog (aged 12+ who has recently had a stroke) fell in the garden pond and was smelly and muddy so we bathed him and dried between his toes.

    Unfortunately the light fixture broke in the bathroom so we will have to brush our teeth by candlelight. At lunch I cooked some nice fish the dog had some too but he spat the courgettes out round the kitchen floor so we cleared it up then chopped them up small and put it in his dog-meat at teatime —doing things together, never moaning and acceptance of faults that is what love is..

    Posted by Hazel Greenwood

    LinkedIn Group: Marketing Tips – Authors, Marketers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs

    Go to my website and check out my book LOST AND FOUND: LOVE, a book of love poems that will give you a fun, entertaining, endearing, and thoughtful perspective on the different kinds of love. Purchase your copy today! …http://www.victoryp.com

    Posted by Yolanda Pacheco Garcia

  3. LinkedIn Group: Leaders & Thinkers

    Love happens at its time – everywhere. I think if I love my life I’m able to love. All senses are open. If I say “I love my partners” it means that I respect them as perfect personality, that I want only the best for them because each person is wonderful and nobody is better. Love for me is: I recognize the personality and I want and help that he/she grows more and more. If someone tells me “I love you” and he starts to change my personality I leave because I know, that he loves only his interests but not me. To do something only for others fun you loose your liberty. Love is: embrace the world, you feel warm and wonderful, all things become easier in you private life, at work, everywhere. I can feel it already at the phone if someone is open for me, that she/he respects me, that he/she wants to know more and so a good connection for example for a good collaboration starts. Every human being needs love like flowers need sun and water. One day I was invited to present my company at EADS. A manager wellcomes me in the group with the hard words “I think you are not here that I think at you in the future I think you want to present your company”. He had a hard attitude but as I know that we all are human beings I wanted to crack the peel. I answered “o a nice idea for me that you think at me”. Suddenly he had a warm charisma, his face was relaxed, he laughed and the discussion runed uncomplicated and very easy.

    Posted by Heide Claire Mayer-Storz

  4. I really enjoyed this article. It made me giggle and your points were so true and real true for me right now.

    I’m really enjoying your blog Anton.

Leave a Reply

